# Alleviate Foundation

Washington, District of Columbia. EIN 39-4266944.
Exempt and current. Claimed by the organization.

Source: IRS public records as of October 13, 2026, as shown by the Alleviate Index. https://index.alleviate.org/org/alleviate-foundation-394266944

The mission, programs and readiness scores below come from the organization. Everything else comes from IRS files.

## Mission and programs

To build a more equitable world by strengthening nonprofits, social enterprises, and communities through access to funding, knowledge, and digital tools that enable lasting social impact.

- Digital Capacity Access Program (DCAP): A year of donated digital infrastructure, training, and coaching for small nonprofits, with what changed measured at six and twelve months.
- Transformation Program Scholarships: Funds places in the Alleviate Transformation Program for nonprofit leaders who are ready to build but cannot afford the entry point.

Website: https://www.alleviatefoundation.org/

## At a glance

The organization files Form 990-N, the e-Postcard, which carries no financial figures. The latest one on the IRS file is for the fiscal year ending December 2025.

- Revenue: Not reported (Form 990-N carries no figures)
- Assets: Not reported (Form 990-N carries no figures)
- Required return: Form 990-N (The e-Postcard, for receipts normally $50,000 or less)
- Fiscal year: January to December (Ends in December)
- Focus: Management and technical assistance (NTEE S02, community improvement)
- Charity type: Publicly supported (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))

## What is due, and when

Computed from the fiscal year end and the return type. Federal dates are fixed by law. The state line is the general charitable solicitation rule of the District of Columbia, read from the regulator’s own guidance; exemptions vary, and the regulator’s page is the authority.

- May 17, 2027: Form 990-N for FY2026. Fifteenth day of the fifth month after year end. May 15 falls on a Saturday, so the deadline moves to Monday.
- Every two years: District of Columbia charitable solicitation registration. Charities that solicit in the District of Columbia register with the District and renew every two years, unless exempt. Regulator: Business Licensing Division, District of Columbia Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (https://dlcp.dc.gov/node/1618416).
- Watch: Automatic revocation rule. No risk shown. Exempt status is revoked after three consecutive years without a return. The latest return on file is FY2025.

## What the IRS lists say

Three IRS lists, read each month. This is a display of what they show, not a determination of status.

- Exempt status: Listed as exempt. The IRS list of exempt organizations. As of October 13, 2026.
- Deductible donations: Listed. The IRS list of organizations eligible to receive tax deductible contributions. Listed with code PC (public charity). As of October 13, 2026.
- Automatic revocation: Not on the list. The IRS list of organizations whose exemption was revoked for not filing three years in a row. As of October 13, 2026.

## No size comparison

Peer groups start at $50,000 of revenue on the latest return. Below that, most organizations file Form 990-N, which carries no financial figures, so there is no group to compare with.

## How the organization scores itself

Self assessed by the organization on September 26, 2026 with the Alleviate Readiness Assessment, and published by its choice. Each pillar is scored from 1 to 5.

- Mission & Strategic Clarity: 4.3 of 5
- Stakeholders & Positioning: 3.0 of 5
- Programs & Program Design: 3.7 of 5
- Evidence, Data & Storytelling: 3.7 of 5
- Systems, Governance & Readiness: 4.0 of 5

This profile is kept by the organization.
