# Thomas Plott Foundation Inc

Tuscaloosa, Alabama. EIN 26-4646429.
Exempt, a return not yet on file.

Source: IRS public records as of October 13, 2026, as shown by the Alleviate Index. https://index.alleviate.org/org/thomas-plott-foundation-inc-264646429

## At a glance

The organization files Form 990-N, the e-Postcard, which carries no financial figures. The latest one on the IRS file is for the fiscal year ending December 2023.

- Revenue: Not reported (Form 990-N carries no figures)
- Assets: Not reported (Form 990-N carries no figures)
- Required return: Form 990-N (The e-Postcard, for receipts normally $50,000 or less)
- Fiscal year: January to December (Ends in December)
- Focus: Fundraising and fund distribution (NTEE H12, medical research)
- Charity type: Publicly supported (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))

## What is due, and when

Computed from the fiscal year end and the return type. Federal dates are fixed by law. The state line is the general charitable solicitation rule of Alabama, read from the regulator’s own guidance; exemptions vary, and the regulator’s page is the authority.

- May 15, 2025: Form 990-N for FY2024. Not yet on the IRS file. The October 2026 IRS file shows FY2023 as the latest return. Form 990-N has no extension.
- May 15, 2026: Form 990-N for FY2025. Not yet on the IRS file. The October 2026 IRS file shows FY2023 as the latest return. Form 990-N has no extension.
- May 17, 2027: Form 990-N for FY2026. Fifteenth day of the fifth month after year end. May 15 falls on a Saturday, so the deadline moves to Monday.
- Annual: Alabama charitable solicitation registration. Charities that solicit in Alabama register with the state and file a report each year, unless exempt. It is due within 90 days after the fiscal year ends. An extension is available. Regulator: Consumer Interest Division, Alabama Attorney General's Office (https://www.alabamaag.gov/consumer-protection/charitable-organizations/).
- Watch: Automatic revocation rule. Two returns not yet on the file. Exempt status is revoked after three consecutive years without a return. The latest return on file is FY2023.

## When each return reached the IRS

From IRS records of electronically filed returns. The IRS record date is the date in the IRS’s own record of each return. It is not a legal filing date, and extensions are not public.

| Fiscal year | Form | IRS record date | Due date | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| FY2021 | Form 990-EZ | November 15, 2022 | May 16, 2022 |  |

Returns for fiscal years before 2021, and returns the IRS record cannot date, are not listed.

## What the IRS lists say

Three IRS lists, read each month. This is a display of what they show, not a determination of status.

- Exempt status: Listed as exempt. The IRS list of exempt organizations. As of October 13, 2026.
- Deductible donations: Listed. The IRS list of organizations eligible to receive tax deductible contributions. Listed with code PC (public charity). As of October 13, 2026.
- Automatic revocation: Not on the list. The IRS list of organizations whose exemption was revoked for not filing three years in a row. As of October 13, 2026.

## No size comparison

Peer groups start at $50,000 of revenue on the latest return. Below that, most organizations file Form 990-N, which carries no financial figures, so there is no group to compare with.

## What public data cannot tell you

A 990 shows money in and money out. It cannot show whether programs, outcomes, funding and compliance live in one place, or how long a funder report takes to produce. The five pillars below are scored only by the organization itself.

- Mission & Strategic Clarity: Unscored
- Stakeholders & Positioning: Unscored
- Programs & Program Design: Unscored
- Evidence, Data & Storytelling: Unscored
- Systems, Governance & Readiness: Unscored

Is this your organization? Claim this profile: https://index.alleviate.org/org/thomas-plott-foundation-inc-264646429#claim
