# Democracylab Us

Salem, Oregon. EIN 20-5205247.
Exempt and current.

Source: IRS public records as of October 13, 2026, as shown by the Alleviate Index. https://index.alleviate.org/org/democracylab-us-205205247

## At a glance

The organization files Form 990-N, the e-Postcard, which carries no financial figures. The latest one on the IRS file is for the fiscal year ending December 2025.

- Revenue: Not reported (Form 990-N carries no figures)
- Assets: Not reported (Form 990-N carries no figures)
- Required return: Form 990-N (The e-Postcard, for receipts normally $50,000 or less)
- Fiscal year: January to December (Ends in December)
- Focus: Political science (NTEE V24, social science)
- Charity type: Publicly supported (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))

## What is due, and when

Computed from the fiscal year end and the return type. Federal dates are fixed by law. The state line is the general charitable solicitation rule of Oregon, read from the regulator’s own guidance; exemptions vary, and the regulator’s page is the authority.

- May 17, 2027: Form 990-N for FY2026. Fifteenth day of the fifth month after year end. May 15 falls on a Saturday, so the deadline moves to Monday.
- Annual: Oregon charitable solicitation registration. Charities that solicit in Oregon register with the state and file a report each year, unless exempt. It is due by the 15th day of the fifth month after the fiscal year ends. An extension is available. For a fiscal year ending in December, that is May 15. Regulator: Charitable Activities Section, Oregon Department of Justice (https://www.doj.state.or.us/charitable-activities/).
- Watch: Automatic revocation rule. No risk shown. Exempt status is revoked after three consecutive years without a return. The latest return on file is FY2025.

## When each return reached the IRS

From IRS records of electronically filed returns. The IRS record date is the date in the IRS’s own record of each return. It is not a legal filing date, and extensions are not public.

| Fiscal year | Form | IRS record date | Due date | Note |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| FY2023 | Form 990-EZ | May 15, 2024 | May 15, 2024 | On or before the due date |
| FY2022 | Form 990 | May 17, 2023 | May 15, 2023 | A later version was recorded on May 15, 2024. |
| FY2021 | Form 990-EZ | May 17, 2022 | May 16, 2022 |  |

Returns for fiscal years before 2021, and returns the IRS record cannot date, are not listed.

## What the IRS lists say

Three IRS lists, read each month. This is a display of what they show, not a determination of status.

- Exempt status: Listed as exempt. The IRS list of exempt organizations. As of October 13, 2026.
- Deductible donations: Listed. The IRS list of organizations eligible to receive tax deductible contributions. Listed with code PC (public charity). As of October 13, 2026.
- Automatic revocation: Not on the list. The IRS list of organizations whose exemption was revoked for not filing three years in a row. As of October 13, 2026.

## No size comparison

Peer groups start at $50,000 of revenue on the latest return. Below that, most organizations file Form 990-N, which carries no financial figures, so there is no group to compare with.

## What public data cannot tell you

A 990 shows money in and money out. It cannot show whether programs, outcomes, funding and compliance live in one place, or how long a funder report takes to produce. The five pillars below are scored only by the organization itself.

- Mission & Strategic Clarity: Unscored
- Stakeholders & Positioning: Unscored
- Programs & Program Design: Unscored
- Evidence, Data & Storytelling: Unscored
- Systems, Governance & Readiness: Unscored

Is this your organization? Claim this profile: https://index.alleviate.org/org/democracylab-us-205205247#claim
